Skip To Main Content

Lincolnwood Elementary School History

Lincolnwood Elementary school first opened in 1913. The school was designed by Chicago architect and urban planner Dwight H. Perkins, who also designed Oakton and other Evanston schools. Perkins lived nearby on Lincoln Street. Mary E. Moore was the school’s first principal (1913-1930). Lincolnwood was the first school in Evanston to have a playground and a gym. The current building was built in 1950. The school was likely named after the Lincolnwood housing subdivison in which it is located. The name incorporates the surrounding geographical features: Lincoln Street and a nearby wooded area. 

The D65 School History project is the result of a partnership with Evanston History Center. This research was completed by the Evanston History Center with research contributions by Lucy La Fond (ETHS class of 2027).

This information is intended to recognize the unique history of District 65 schools. Please note that this is not a comprehensive record.

School History

Interested in the history of other District 65 schools?

Haven Middle School was initially built to serve students from two school districts.

The predecessor to Park School was established in 1949 by a group of parents.